Call for Papers | Dates | Organisers | PC | Programme | Submissions | Venue

Submission deadline:

January 30, 2014
February 20, 2014
March 3, 2014
April 27, 2014

EACL 2014 Workshop: PITR 2014

The 3rd Workshop on Predicting and Improving Text Readability for Target Reader Populations

Will be held on:

27 April, 2014 at EACL in Gothenburg, Sweden

in conjunction with the 14th Conference of the European Chapter of the Association for Computational Linguistics (EACL 2014).

The PITR workshop series is associated with the ACL Special Interest Group on Speech and Language Processing for Assistive Technologies (SIG-SLPAT).

Previous Workshops

PITR 2013

PITR 2012


PITR proceedings are available here.


 (09:00) Session 1 - Keynote
09:00Welcome and opening remarks
09:10Keynote: Choosing Appropriate Words in Generated Texts for Low-Skill Readers Ehud Reiter
10:30Coffee break
 (11:00) Session 2 - Papers
11:00One Step Closer to Automatic Evaluation of Text Simplification Systems
Sanja Štajner, Ruslan Mitkov and Horacio Saggion Abstract
11:20Automatic diagnosis of understanding of medical words
Natalia Grabar, Thierry Hamon and Dany Amiot Abstract
11:40Exploring Measures of “Readability” for Spoken Language: Analyzing linguistic features of subtitles to identify age-specific TV programs
Sowmya Vajjala and Detmar Meurers Abstract
12:00Keyword Highlighting Improves Comprehension for People with Dyslexia
Luz Rello, Horacio Saggion and Ricardo Baeza-Yates Abstract
12:30Lunch break
 (14:00) Session 3 - Papers
14:00An eye-tracking evaluation of some parser complexity metrics
Matthew J. Green Abstract
14:20Syntactic Sentence Simplification for French
Laetitia Brouwers, Delphine Bernhard, Anne-Laure Ligozat and Thomas Francois Abstract
15:30Coffee break
 (16:00) Session 4 - Posters
 Medical text simplification using synonym replacement: Adapting assessment of word difficulty to a compounding language
Emil Abrahamsson, Timothy Forni, Maria Skeppstedt and Maria Kvist Abstract
 Segmentation of patent claims for improving their readability
Gabriela Ferraro, Hanna Suominen and Jaume Nualart Abstract
 Improving Readability of Swedish Electronic Health Records through Lexical Simplification: First Results
Gintaré Grigonyté, Maria Kvist, Sumithra Velupillai and Mats Wirén Abstract
 An Open Corpus of Everyday Documents for Simplification Tasks
David Pellow and Maxine Eskenazi Abstract
 EACL - Expansion of Abbreviations in CLinical text
Lisa Tengstrand, Beáta Megyesi, Aron Henriksson, Martin Duneld and Maria Kvist Abstract
 A Quantitative Insight into the Impact of Translation on Readability
Alina Maria Ciobanu and Liviu Dinu Abstract
 Classifying easy-to-read texts without parsing
Johan Falkenjack and Arne Jonsson Abstract
 An Analysis of Crowdsourced Text Simplifications
Marcelo Amancio and Lucia Specia Abstract
 An evaluation of syntactic simplification rules for people with autism
Richard Evans, Constantin Orasan and Iustin Dornescu Abstract
+Guest Poster: a preview of an EACL Main Session Paper: Assessing the Relative Reading Level of Sentence Pairs for Text Simplification. Sowmya Vajjala and Detmar Meurers
16:50Closing Remarks


Submissions will be judged on appropriateness, clarity, originality/innovativeness, correctness/soundness, meaningful comparison, thoroughness, significance, contributions to research, and replicability. Each submission will be reviewed by at least three program committee members.

Papers should prepared in EACL format (see instructions and downloadable style files). They may consist of up to eight (8) pages of content, plus two extra pages for references; final versions should take into account reviewers' comments. Papers will be presented as either (i) a talk and a poster, or (ii) a poster only, as determined by the program committee. Decisions on presentation format will be based on the nature rather than the quality of the work. There will be no distinction in the proceedings between papers presented orally and as posters.

Please submit your paper via the online START Conference Manager system.


January 30, 2014: Deadline for paper submission
February 20, 2014: Notification of acceptance
March 3, 2014: Camera-ready deadline
April 27, 2014: Workshop


Sandra Williams, The Open University, UK.
Advaith Siddharthan, University of Aberdeen, UK.
Ani Nenkova, University of Pennsylvania, USA.


Stefan Bott, Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Spain
Kevyn Collins-Thompson, University of Michigan, USA
Siobhan Devlin, University of Sunderland, UK
Micha Elsner, Ohio State University, USA
Richard Evans, University of Wolverhampton, UK
Oliver Ferschke, Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany
Thomas Francois, University of Louvain, Belgium
Caroline Gasperin, SwiftKey, UK
Albert Gatt, University of Malta, Malta
Raquel Hervas, Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain
Veronique Hoste, University College Ghent, Belgium
Matt Huenerfauth, The City University of New York (CUNY), USA
David Kauchak, Middlebury College, USA
Annie Louis, University of Edinburgh, UK
Ruslan Mitkov, University of Wolverhampton, UK
Hitoshi Nishikawa, NTT, Japan
Ehud Reiter, University of Aberdeen, UK
Matthew Shardlow, Uni of Manchester, UK
Lucia Specia, University of Sheffield, UK
Ivelina Stoyanova, BAS, Bulgaria
Irina Temnikova, Qatar Computing Research Institute, Qatar
Sowmya Vajjala, Uni Tuebingen, Germany
Ielka van der Sluis, University of Groningen, The Netherlands
Jennifer Williams, MIT, USA
Kristian Woodsend, University of Edinburgh, UK

Last modified: April 2014, S.H.Williams

Keynote Speaker

Ehud Reiter

Prof. Ehud Reiter, University of Aberdeen

Title: Choosing Appropriate Words in Generated Texts for Low-Skill Readers

This Year's Authors

Abrahamsson, Emil
Amancio, Marcelo
Amiot, Dany
Baeza-Yates, Ricardo
Bernhard, Delphine
Brouwers, Laetitia
Ciobanu, Alina Maria
Dinu, Liviu
Dornescu, Iustin
Duneld, Martin
Eskenazi, Maxine
Evans, Richard
Falkenjack, Johan
Ferraro, Gabriela
Forni, Timothy
François, Thomas
Grabar, Natalia
Green, Matthew J.
Grigonyté, Gintaré
Hamon, Thierry
Henriksson, Aron
Jonsson, Arne
Kvist, Maria
Ligozat, Anne-Laure
Megyesi, Beáta
Meurers, Detmar
Mitkov, Ruslan
Nualart, Jaume
Orasan, Constantin
Pellow, David
Rello, Luz
Saggion, Horacio
Skeppstedt, Maria
Specia, Lucia
Ŝtajner, Sanja
Suominen, Hanna
Tengstrand, Lisa
Vajjala, Sowmya
Velupillai, Sumithra
Wirén, Mats