The Wolverton 5 Mile Road Race

Sponsored by and by Body Limits Transition

The 53rd Wolverton 5 mile road race will be held on Saturday 25 November 2017, starting at 2pm.

You can enter the race by completing the entry form and sending it off to the race secretary or enter online via Marshall Milton Keynes members should contact Brian Graves to claim their free entry.

Map of the course

History of the Race

The first Wolverton 5 Mile Road Race was held in 1965 and has been held every year since that time, on the last Saturday in November. The early races were organised by the then Chairman and now President, Milford Callow, and his wife Rose holds the distinction of having officiated at every single race. The first winner was Mike Price (Bristol) in 24.10. The following year, this record was reduced to 23.34 by Tony Sunderland (Shaftesbury Harriers). This record held until 1969 until Ron Grove (Leicester Coritanian) reduced it to 23.20. This record held until 1980, despite some excellent performances from international athletes, Tony Simmonds and Ian Thompson (Luton). The 1980 race was a tremendous contest between international steeplechasers, Roger Hackney and Gordon Rimmer, with Rimmer getting the edge in 23.08. The biggest ever field in the Wolverton 5 was in 1981 when there were over 700 entries and 530 finishers.

By 1991, the two-lap course round the Wolverton Railway works was becoming heavily congested and the decision was taken to move the race to Willen Lake, where it has been held ever since. The course has remained essentially the same, involving two laps of fast, traffic-free redways. Registration/Numbers will be available at Willen Lakeside (near the Peace Pagoda) off Brickhill Street (V10) with ample parking. In 1992, British international, Alison Wyeth, recorded the super-fast time of 26.21. This was the fastest five-mile time by a woman in any British race in 1992 and remains the race record. The following year it was the men's turn when Justin Hobbs (Cardiff) ran the fastest five-mile time by a man in any British race in 1993, recording 23.01. In 1995 the course round Willen Lake was modified to improve the finish. The best times on this new course are 23.35 by Julien Moorhouse, set in 1999, and 26.36 by Liz Talbot (now Liz Yelling), set in 1996. Keith Cullen won the race in 2003 in 23:46. Prizes of £100 are offered to the first man to break 23 minutes and the first woman to break 26.20.

Directions: From Junction 14 of the M1 Motorway, head for Milton Keynes; At the first roundabout, turn right onto the A509; At the second roundabout turn right again onto the V10, Brickhill Street; 200m up this road there is a car park on your right. The race headquarters is at Camphill Milton Keynes on the other side of Brickhill Street. There is a footpath at the end of the car park: turn left to cross over Brickhill Street to Camphill, or turn right, up the hill, to go straight to the course.


First 3 men


First 3 women


Veteran men


Veteran women

£200 prizes:

First man to break 23 minutes


First woman to break 26.20


Entry Fee:

£10 (£12 unattached)

Late entries (on the day):

£12 (£14 unattached)

Entries to:

Race Secretary, 30 Avocet House, Millward Drive, Fenny Stratford,

Entries close:

19 November 2017

Cheques should be made payable to MMKAC

Please send an SAE for directions and number.

The 2016 Race 2016 Race results

The 2015 Race 2015 Race results

The 2014 Race 2014 Race results

The 2013Race 2013 Race results

The 2012 Race 2012 Race results

The 2011 Race 2011 Race results

The 2010 Race Results of the 2010 Wolverton 5

The 2009 Race Results of the 2009 Wolverton 5

The 2008 Race Results of the 2008 Wolverton 5

The 2007 Race Results of the 2007 Wolverton 5

The 2006 Race Results of the 2006 Wolverton 5

The 2005 Race Results of the 2005 Wolverton 5

The 2004 Race Results of the 2004 Wolverton 5

Report on the 2003 Race

Despite the cold wet weather the Men’s race was a cracking contest with the previous year’s winner Steven Body out to make it four wins in a row. However, double Olympian, Keith Cullen, on the comeback trail after recent injuries, was looking for a fast time. On the short two-mile first lap, Cullen headed off fast, tracked by Dutch 2:11 marathon runner, Greg Van Hest, with Body third and Blackheath’s David Taylor in fourth, John Downes was back in fifth. On the second three-mile circuit, Cullen moved into a useful lead while Taylor eased past Van Hest to give chase. Cullen looked as though he still had something left in the tank as he crossed the line in a fast 23:46 with Taylor eight seconds adrift. Last year seven women, including Anna Berrill, broke 30 minutes. This year no women ducked under the half hour and Berrill won with some ease with Sarah Cox in second place.

Results of the 2003 Wolverton 5

Report on the 2002 Race

The race was held on Saturday 23 November 2002. Steven Body of Vauxhall completed his hat-trick of wins in the Men's race emulating the feat of Billy Dee (formerly of Luton United AC) in the 80s. MKAC's new star, Richard Nifah, finished second, ahead of Chris Shelton of Chesterfield. Billy Dee won the veteran's race ahead of Julian Critchlow (Watford) and Andy Magnall (Shaftesbury). Twelve men were inside 25 minutes, including the first three veterans, the best quality field for many years. In the women's race Bideford's Vicky Pincombe thwarted Louisa Wood's (Bedford & County) ambition of repeating her win of two years ago. Louisa has finished first, third and now second. Anna Berrill has now run the race three times - each time for a different club (Ilford, Bedford Harriers and Bedford & County). The winner of the veteran women's race was the very sprightly F45, Fiona Kennedy, one of the seven women under 30 minutes, another best quality field for many years.

Results of the 2002 Wolverton 5

The 2001 Wolverton 5.

The 2000 Wolverton 5.
Picture of Phil Jones and others after 1 lap - Valerie Russell.
Picture of the winner Simon Body - Valerie Russell.
Picture of Louisa Wood at the finish - Valerie Russell.
Picture of the Ian Russell - Valerie Russell.
Picture of Alex Bowden, just ahead of Linda Dewhurst - Valerie Russell.
Picture of the Alan Daglish of Vauxhall AC - Valerie Russell.
Picture of John Hamilton and Trevor Hook - Valerie Russell.
Picture of Roger Goddard, Phil Jones and Jim Docherty at the finish - Valerie Russell.

The 1999 Wolverton 5.