Skip to content The Open University

Accreditation for old framework and postgraduate qualifications

Some of the following professional institutions have accredited OU Engineering qualifications. Further information is available by clicking on the links below but for cast iron confirmation that your OU qualification is accredited, we advise you to contact your chosen professional institution directly.

  • CIBSE - The Chartered Institution of Building Services Engineers
  • EI - Engineers Ireland
  • ICE - Institution of Civil Engineers
  • IED - Institution of Engineering Designers
  • IET - The Institution of Engineering and Technology
  • IGEM - Institution of Gas Engineers and Managers
  • IHE - Institute of Highway Engineers
  • IMarEst - Institute of Marine Engineering, Science and Technology
  • IMechE - Institution of Mechanical Engineers
  • RINA - The Royal Institution of Naval Architects
  • SOE - Society of Operations Engineers

If you would prefer to apply to a professional institution not listed above, you can contact them directly to establish whether they will recognise these institutions’ accreditations or whether they will specify additional requirements.

The old framework qualifications have had their accreditations extended until the end of their lives but are now defined by the year of entry of the students.

You may wish to take a look at the accredited course search page on the Engineering Council’s website.

Click here to go back to the Accreditation homepage.